top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaren

9 Components of Yoga Explained

Sometimes, as a beginner, it's hard to understand the different elements of yoga. One teacher says this, another says that. At the end of the day though, we are all on the same journey. So here's a little explanation to get you in sync with this wonderful yoga voyage you are on.

1. Asana is the Sanskrit term for physical poses & postures in yoga.

2. Drishti means to ‘Gaze’ or steady the eyes in one place. It is used in a yoga practice to draw the attention inward in order to slow the breathing, find balance in the body and reduce outside distraction.

3. Suryanamaskara or ‘Salute to the Sun’ or ‘Sun Salutation’ is a yoga practice incorporating a sequence of linked asanas.

4. Mudras means “seals,” and it refers to the hand positions used in yoga poses or meditation practices. Each finger is associated with a different element, and connecting them in specific ways can direct the flow of energy in the body to convey a certain intention.

5. Pranayama is the practice of breath control in yoga. Pranayama is also a branch or limb of yoga.

6. Ujjayi means ‘Victorious’ or ‘Warrior Breathing’, and is also sometimes called ‘Ocean Breath’ in Yoga. It is one of the most common forms of breath control in yoga and focuses on the breath entering and exiting through the nose, and brushing across the back of the throat to enliven the sense organs and help us to stay present.

7. Bandhas are energetic locks located throughout the body that can be accessed through muscle contraction. They act as ‘valves’ that direct the flow of energy within our body.

8. Relaxation in yoga is usually performed in Savasana pose at the end of a yoga practice. By breathing consciously and physically moving the body through the asanas during our yoga practice, it becomes easier to relax the mind and body during relaxation, giving us a chance to re-connect with the energy within, control our senses and find more peace and calmness in life.

9. Meditation in yoga is a methodology designed to reveal to us how every living thing is connected. This unity is referred to as advaita, and meditation is the actual experience of this union. It involves the practice of going ‘within’ and entering a state of calmness by focusing on our breath, a mantra, or a visualisation. Besides its ultimate goal of fundamental unity, meditation is also an effective tool to manage stress, improve our physical health, and help us to manage our reactions to life’s daily challenges.

Hope this helped you to understand more about yoga.


Have yourself a great day


8 views0 comments


bottom of page